

## DIARY DATES

**10 December** Extraordinary Election 8am—6pm

**13 December** Recycling Collection

**20 December** Ordinary Meeting of Council @ 3pm in Council Chambers

### COUNCILLORS -

Cr Rachel Kirby President P: 08 9686 1160 E: crkirby@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au

#### **Cr Stuart Faulkner** Deputy President

P: 08 9686 1050 E: crfaulkner@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au

Cr Tony Sachse P: 08 9685 1257 E: crsachse@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au

Cr Helen Shemeld P: 08 9686 1054 E: crshemeld@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au

Cr John Beagley P: 08 9685 1247 E: crbeagley@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au

Cr Callum Lumsden P: 08 9686 1100 E: crlumsden@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au

#### Vacant

- P:
- E:

## Shire of Mt Marshall

- THE SANDALWOOD SHIRE -

### 5 December 2016

### **OFFICE CLOSURE**

Please be advised that the Shire office will be closed for the afternoon of Friday 16 December. The office will close at 12.00pm and reopen for business as normal on Monday 19 December at 9am. This is due to staff attending the Shire's Christmas function. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

#### **RATES INSTALMENT REMINDER**

If you have selected the instalment method for payment of rates you are reminded that the next instalment is due on **Friday 16 December**.



9.00 - 4.00

### SHIRE OFFICE CHRISTMAS & NEW YEARS OPENING HOURS

The Shire Office will be closing over the Christmas and New Years Period. Please see details below:

Friday 23 December



Monday 26 December	CLOSED
Tuesday 27 December	CLOSED
Wednesday 28 December	CLOSED
	CLOSED
Friday 30 December	CLOSED
Thursday 29 December Friday 30 December	

Monday 2 JanuaryCLOSEDTuesday 3 January9.00 - 4.00

Emergency contact numbers during this period are: Jack Walker - 0429 851 318 Andrew Johnson - 0499 851 111

## CONTACT US



80 Monger Street, Bencubbin WA 6477 | Phone: 08 9685 1202 | Fax: 08 9685 1299 Email: admin@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au | www.mtmarshall.wa.gov.au



# Shire of Mt Marshall

— THE SANDALWOOD SHIRE -

## Shire of Mt Marshall

## Extraordinary Election 10 December 2016 NOTICE OF ELECTION

A voting-in-person election will be held on Saturday 10 December 2016, to fill one vacancy in the office of Councillor of the Shire of Mt Marshall.

The names of the candidates in ballot order are;

Nick Gillett

Tanya Gibson

## How to Vote:

**Vote in person** at either one of the following polling places on Saturday 10 December 2016 during the hours of 8am to 6pm.

Mt Marshall Shire Office, Monger St, Bencubbin Beacon Community Hall, Rowlands St, Beacon

**Early voting** will open on Wednesday 9 November 2016 at the Shire Office in Monger St, Bencubbin. Electors will be able to vote during normal business hours (9am to 4pm) up until 4pm Friday 9 December 2016.

A **postal vote** can be obtained on application to the Returning Officer. Completed postal votes must be returned in the reply paid envelopes provided and received by the Returning Officer by no later than 6pm on Thursday 8 December 2016. Postal vote applications close Tuesday 6 December 2016.

An **absent vote** can be cast at the office of any other local government in Western Australia during normal office hours. Absent voting opens Wednesday 9 November 2016 and closes Tuesday 6 December 2016.

## **Counting of Votes:**

Votes will be counted at the Mt Marshall Shire Office, Monger St, Bencubbin immediately after the close of the poll at 6pm.

## **Further Information:**

Please contact the Returning Officer, Stephen Tindale on 9685 1202 or email <u>ceo@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au</u>



## Shire of Mt Marshall

### **EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY**

The Shire of Mt Marshall is offering an opportunity to join its works team in the role of Beacon Town Maintenance Assistant. The job involves a diverse range of duties, suiting those who like a bit of variety. The Beacon Town Maintenance Assistant will assist the Beacon Town Maintenance Officer in maintaining the parks, gardens, street verges and infrastructure within the town site of Beacon. The position will also be responsible for cleaning Shire owned/leased facilities, including but not limited to the Beacon Barracks Accommodation, Beacon Caravan Park and the Beacon Recreation Complex.

Housing in the town of Beacon is provided with this position, however wont be available until mid January 2017.

To obtain a copy of the position description, please contact Nadine Richmond during office hours on 08 9685 1202 or via email ea@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au. Applications submitted to the undersigned, marked 'Private & Confidential' are to be received by 4pm, Friday 6 January 2017.

Stephen Tindale Acting Chief Executive Officer

The President, Councillors and Staff of the Shire of Mt Marshall would like to wish everyone a safe and happy Christmas and New Year.



# Shire of Mt Marshall

— THE SANDALWOOD SHIRE

### HAVE YOUR SAY!

The Shire is working on its new Strategic Community Plan and has undertaken an audit of its land and building assets in the towns of Bencubbin and Beacon. The results have been published on the home page of the Shire's website (www.mt.marshall.wa.gov.au) – but it's not enough!

While the audit shows in \$ terms what the Shire has in both towns it doesn't go far enough in showing other community investments in the towns of Bencubbin and Beacon.

This community investment could be volunteer services (e.g. fire and ambulance), school P&C's, progress associations, Silver Chain support, sporting clubs and all the other community and government initiatives that make our towns work.

That's where we need your input.

What are the other things that are done by the community? Are there things that are done by the community that should be done by the Shire? What are they? Are there other things that the Shire should be doing?

What should stay with community organisations? How much Shire assistance should go to community organisations? Has the Shire got the level of support right for our communities or does more need to be done and why?

If you have an opinion, share it with us by emailing admin@mtmarshal.wa.gov.au by Friday 3rd February 2017.



Stephen Tindale Acting Chief Executive Officer