SHIRE OF MT MARSHALL



Facilities and Services Committee

Minutes of the
Mt Marshall Facilities and Services
Committee Meeting
held on Wednesday 17 November 2021
in CWA House, Rowlands St, Beacon
commencing at 6:01pm.

This page has been left blank been tionally intentionally

DISCLAIMER

MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE REQUESTED TO READ THROUGH AND FAMILIARISE THEMSELVES WITH THE DISCLAIMER

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Mt Marshall for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or Committee meetings. The Shire of Mt Marshall disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or Committee meetings. Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or Committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without derogating in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a license, any statement or intimation of approval made by a member or officer of the Shire of Mt Marshall during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not to be taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Mt Marshall. The Shire of Mt Marshall warns that anyone who has an application lodged with the Shire of Mt Marshall must obtain and should only rely on written confirmation of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Shire of Mt Marshall in respect of the application.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

- 1. Declaration of Opening
- 2. Record of Attendance / Apologies
- 3. Election of Chair
- 4. Standing Orders
- 5. Terms of Reference
- 6. General Business
- 7. Next Meeting
- 8. Meeting Closure

1.0 Declaration of Opening / Announcement of Visitors

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 6:01pm.

2.0 Record of Attendance / Apologies

Attendance

Mrs Krista Lancaster
Cr ARC Sachse
Cr TM Gibson
Committee Member / Chairperson
Councillor / Committee Member
Councillor / Committee Member

Mrs Sue Munns Committee Member Mr Michael Carr Committee Member

Mr Nigel Beagley Committee Member 6:27 – 7:30pm

Mr John Nuttall Chief Executive Officer

Miss Rebecca Watson Community Development Officer

Apologies

Nil

3.0 Election of Chair

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for Chair.

Mrs Sue Munns nominated Mrs Krista Lancaster Mr Michael Carr seconded the nomination.

Mrs Krista Lancaster accepted the nomination. Mr Michael Carr nominated Cr TM Gibson

Cr TM Gibson's nomination was not seconded and as there were no other nominations the Chief Executive Officer declared Mrs Krista Lancaster as Chair of the Facilities and Services Committee.

Mrs Krista Lancaster assumed the Chair.

4.0 Standing Orders

FASC2021/001 COMMITTEE DECISION:

That Standing Order number 9.2 - Limitation of Number of Speeches be suspended for the duration of the meeting to allow for greater debate on items in the agenda.

Moved Mrs Sue Munns Seconded Mr Michael Carr Carried 5/0

Mr Nigel Beagley entered the meeting at 6:27pm.

5.0 Terms of Reference

FACS2021/002 COMMITTEE DECISION:

That the Committee adopt the Terms of Reference document as presented.



Shire of Mt Marshall

— THE SANDALWOOD SHIRE ——

FACILITIES AND SERVICES COMMITTEE - TERMS OF REFERENCE

What is the Committee Purpose?

Work with groups from across the community to address their concerns regarding equity in facilities and services

Measures of Success?

- Improved relationship and connection between the community and Council through the Committee
- Progressive delivery of agreed priorities
- Regular and effective progress reporting

Date Formed

16 November 2021

How will the Committee be administered?

Parti ci pants	Nominated Elected Members, Shire employees and community members from across the Shire
Meeting Frequency	Quarterly
Format	Facilitated meetings and progress reporting
Records	Minutes and supporting information shared within 5 working days of the meeting

Governance & Administration

Governance

Shire of Mt Marshall

Committee Members

Delivery

Members	Role and Responsibilities	
Community Representatives	Krista Lancaster Sue Munns Michael Carr Nigel Beagley	
Elected Members	Cr. ARC Sachse Cr. TM Gibson	
Shire Employees (Non Voting)	John Nuttall Rebecca Watson	

Code of Conduct

We will work together to agree and deliver community outcomes by

- Respecting and valuing everyone's contribution
- Communicating honestly without causing offence
- Collectively working on agreed priorities and meeting agreed commitments
- Making decisions by consensus wherever possible
- Dealing with disputes promptly in an open and honest manner

Committee Priorities

To be ranked by committee members with priorities to be agreed at the next meeting, considering viability, resourcing and budget constraints

- Aged care support options
- ATM
- Community meeting space in a nature setting with a water-based activity
- Shire housing options for Shire workers
- · Day care
- · Facilities upkeep and maintenance
- Removal or thinning of trees at the sports ground
- Septics, hot water, and leach drain maintenance at the sports ground
- · Streetscape and drainage improvements
- Weed management

Mov	ed	Cr	TM	Gib:	son
-----	----	----	----	------	-----

Seconded Mr Nigel Beagley

Carried 6/0

6.0 General Business

Nil

7.0 Next Meeting – Wednesday, 16 February 2022 at 6pm in the CWA House, Beacon

8.0 Closure of Meeting

The Chairperson declared the meeting closed at 7.30pm.

These Minutes were confirmed by the Mt Marshall Facilities and Services Committee at its meeting held

Date	Chairperson