SHIRE OF MT MARSHALL



Local Emergency Management Committee

Minutes of the Mt Marshall Local Emergency Management Committee meeting held in Council Chambers, 80 Monger St, Bencubbin on Tuesday 13 February 2018, commencing at 2.30pm.

This page has This page intentially been left blank intentially

DISCLAIMER

MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE REQUESTED TO READ THROUGH AND FAMILIARISE THEMSELVES WITH THE DISCLAIMER

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Mt Marshall for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or Committee meetings. The Shire of Mt Marshall disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or Committee meetings. Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or Committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without derogating in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a license, any statement or intimation of approval made by a member or officer of the Shire of Mt Marshall during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not to be taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Mt Marshall. The Shire of Mt Marshall warns that anyone who has an application lodged with the Shire of Mt Marshall must obtain and should only rely on <u>written confirmation</u> of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Shire of Mt Marshall in respect of the application.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

- 1. Declaration of Opening
- 2. Record of Attendance/Apologies/Approved Leave of Absence
- Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Meetings
 3.1 Minutes of the Mt Marshall Local Emergency Management Committee Meeting held on Tuesday 14 November 2017
- 4. Reports of Officers
- 5. Other Reports
- 6. New Business of an Urgent Nature Introduced by Decision of the Meeting
- 7. Next Meeting Tuesday 8 May 2018, commencing at 3.30pm
- 8. Meeting Closure

1.0 Declaration of Opening / Announcement of Visitors

Cr Sachse welcomed committee members to the meeting and declared the meeting open at 2.30pm.

2.0 Record of Attendance / Apologies

In Attendance

Cr Anthony Sachse Sgt Heather Carter Cr Ian Sanders SC Lily Unasa Mr John Nuttall Mr Jack Walker Ms Olivia Granich Mr Shaun Betley Ms Joanne Spadaccini Mr Michael Lovell Mr Bruce Gibson Mrs Karen Tabner Ms Tara Eddy Mr Damian Tomas

Apologies

Ms Susan Scully Mr Peter Geraghty Shire President / Chair OIC Bencubbin Police/Deputy Chair Councillor 2IC Bencubbin Police Chief Executive Officer Regulatory Officer Community Development Officer Community Paramedic DCP & Family Support Area Manager - DFES Principal Bencubbin PS Principal Beacon PS Beacon Silver Chain Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (3.10pm)

Bencubbin Silver Chain SJA Co-ordinator

3.0 Confirmation of Minutes

3.1 Minutes of the Mt Marshall Local Emergency Management Committee Meeting held Tuesday 14 November 2017

LEMC2018/001 OFFICER RECOMMENDATION / COMMITTEE DECISION:

That the minutes of the Mt Marshall Local Emergency Management Committee meeting held on Tuesday 14 November 2017 be confirmed as a true and correct record of proceedings.

Moved Cr Ian Sanders Seconded Ms Olivia Granich Carried 13/0

4.0 Reports of Officers

4.1 Regulatory Officer

4.1.1 Information for the Committee

- Beacon Airstrip application for funding has been submitted, but no further information is available at present.
- LEMA Amendments update contact register Tara Eddy replaces Wendy Evans as Beacon Silver Chain RAN, Olivia Granich replaces Sally Putt as the Community Development Officer with the Shire of Mt Marshall and Bruce Gibson replaces Robert McArdle as Principal of the Bencubbin Primary School
- Location of nearest water meter is being sourced for Water Corporation to provide a quote for a meter at Billiburning Rock and Marshall Rock entrances.
- Cr Tony Sachse has been appointed to the Wheatbelt District Emergency Management Committee as the delegate for the Great Eastern Country Zone and Mr Jack Walker has volunteered to be the deputy delegate.
- The next meeting of the DEMC will be on Thursday 15 February 2018 in Northam.

5.0 Other Reports

5.1 Chief Bush Fire Control Officer

Nil

5.2 St John Ambulance Services

Officers training for 2018 will commence in February 2018.

Only the Beacon van will be replaced this year as the current vans available for purchase have done more kilometres than the vans to be replaced.

5.3 Fire & Emergency Services Authority of WA

Nil

5.4 Department of Child Protection and Family Services

Update of contact details was provided to the committee. New Local Welfare Plan was being prepared.

5.5 Education Department

Thank you to the Shire for assistance with clean up at the Beacon school.

5.6 Bencubbin Police

Nil

5.7 Silver Chain Nursing Association

Tara advised that the Beacon Silver Chain was now attended 5 days per week. Beacon's back up power for the centre was a generator that required fueling up every 4 hours.

5.8	Disabilities Service Commission
Nil	
5.9	Community Development
Nil	
6.0	General Business
Nil	
7.0	New Business of an Urgent Nature Introduced by Decision of the Meeting
Nil	
8.0	Next Meeting – Tuesday 8 May 2018 commencing at 3.30pm in Council Chambers, 80 Monger Street, Bencubbin
9 0	Closure of Meeting

There being no further business the meeting closed at 2.48pm

At the conclusion of the meeting a desktop exercise was presented by Jo Spadaccini on the co-ordination and management of a community evacuation centre.

These Minutes were confirmed at the Local Emergency Management Committee Meeting held on Tuesday, 8 May 2018

Date

Cr ARC Sacshe

Chair